Radu Vasile

IMG_0732.JPG

Radu Vasile, 34

Romania

Experience in developing training course, working with young people, etc.

In various stages of my personal and professional development, I passed through all stages of interest under this heading, in various environments more or less formal.

How stances can not be separated, I will present them in chronological order:

Between 1999 and 2002, In the high school, I was given the task to teach computer science as a extra-school activity, to my colleagues in grades from second to eighth. This helped me to develop my skills as a trainer and working with children.

In 2005, I was a volunteer in a project of Cisco Systems in Constanta.

In this project I worked in a lot of activities involving the provision of IT courses for various categories of people in different age intervals.

I had project management activities, and in these activities I had to interact with teams from different parts of the globe. I got so first contact with volunteering and I have seen how you can work in multicultural environments, in a less formal environment.

Many of the activities in this project targeted adolescents, which helped me to develop my skills working with young people.

Between 2006 – 2009, I worked as a software developer for more outsourcing companies in Romania.

Here I was exposed to diverse multicultural backgrounds in an extremely formal and professional business environment. Customers companies I worked for were from France, England, Germany, Switzerland.

Between 2008 and 2009, I was personal advisor to the Secretary of State for Communications Ministry of Romania, where i had to interact with external partners of the government, noting how a multicultural environment in the government administration line.

Between 2010 and 2015, I participated in over 10 projects with European financing, projects with transnational  partnership in which there were developed various products, services and outcomes for persons with visual disabilities. I was also involved in transnational projects to transfer best practices, which involved to visit various areas where best practices could be found for blind persons and try to transfer them in Romania.

I had multiple work sessions or thematic visits in this direction in Italy, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Scotland, Spain.

Some of these projects were aimed at young people and youth work was assumed.

Between 2010 – 2015, I participated in these project from my position of vice president of the Association of the Blind Persons in Romania, Constanta Tulcea Inter-County Branch, a position on a voluntary basis.

Since 2012,  I have the qualification of trainer and trainer of trainers, qualification that allows me to conduct training sessions with groups of people, but also personal development sessions.

In this direction, I have helped more than 20 people in 1-1 sessions in appropriate programs, customized to find solutions to specific challenges that they have encountered in their lives.

from 2015, based on the same qualifications, working with the Association for the Promotion of creative-Ecological and  Innovative  Skills we develop educational activities for children, youth, so that they can develop their skills that they want, or the ones they feel that they need.

Why have you decided to participate in this project?

In Romania, persons with disabilities are discriminated in various forms, which makes them fall within the disadvantaged people category.

One of the most common discrimination is discrimination in employment.

In the work that I have done between 2010 – 2015, as Vice President of Romania Blind Persons Association, Inter-County Branch Constanta – Tulcea, I focused on the employment of persons with visual disabilities.

I tried to create promotional campaigns for people with disabilities, to mediate getting jobs, to train blind people in various areas of interest that are seeking by employers.

Between 2010 and 2013 I participated in a project funded by the European Union, project which aimed to train them in IT and to develop the employment of blind people.

My role was to develop training materials necessary for IT training, but also for Career Development, attending interview, drafting CV and  motivation letters etc.

Between 2012 and 2014, I participated in a project funded by the European Union, a project in which blind people have learned to use a computer and manage web pages using various CMS such as Joomla, WordPress etc.

From 2015 I work with the Association for the Promotion of Creative-environmental  Education and Innovative  Skills .

Within this association, in addition to the  everyday,  current work, we have special activities with students in schools, students at risk of dropping out of school, or who develop inadequate behaviors in the community.

With these we conduct personal  development activities, focusing on learning about management and expressing emotions.

In light of the new international situation, we are involved in activities with immigrants, as part of the project Integration PLUS, project which aims to support migrants who arrive in Romania, for their integration into the community and in  obtaining all legal rights to them.

Our association conducts community integration by setting up events where emigrants to meet with locals and carry out activities together, so that there is a cultural adaptation and achieve cultural dialogue.

Within our activities, both with students in schools and at events for immigrants, we use methods of non-formal education and experiential learning.

Working in so different situations, I found often my self in the position to do what I can with the things I have found at the place of the activity.

For this reason I would like to find new ways to work with the environment when I aply a non-formal education method.

What are your expectations of this training course?

I want to learn different way to exploit the environment in the non-formaleducation field, to learn how to aply such activities to different, diverse groups of persons with different needs and situations.

What does work with young people mean to you?

First, I tried to make people understand that persons with disabilities are  human beeings, a little different, but human beeings.

I did not succeed. I was struck by their wrong beliefs and prejudices, things increasingly harder  to modify since people advance in age.

Therefore I said to go to the base. I address children, young people, those who have not yet so well formed those beliefs and prejudices.

Working with them practically I manage to shape a better world for people with disabilities in the future.

Because young people with I speak today, tomorrow they will know how to behave appropriately, be informed and offer better chances to any person, no matter how different they seem.

Life motto:

Better light a candle than curse the darkness

Social Media

facebook logo  Instagram-logo

 

Leave a Reply

